Is Boat Insurance Required in Tennessee?

Last Updated on October 16, 2022

Boat insurance is not required in the state of Tennessee, but it is highly recommended. There are a number of reasons why you should consider insuring your boat, even if it isn’t required by law. First and foremost, boats are expensive investments.

If something were to happen to your boat, such as fire, theft, or damage caused by weather or another vessel, you could be left with a hefty repair bill. Boat insurance can help protect you financially in the event of an accident or other covered incident.

If you’re a boat owner in Tennessee, you may be wondering if you’re required to have insurance. The answer is yes, all boats must be insured while they’re being operated on Tennessee waterways. This includes any vessel that’s propelled by machinery, sail, or oar.

There are a few exceptions to this rule. Boat insurance isn’t required for canoes, kayaks, and other human-powered vessels. And if your boat is kept at a private dock or mooring, it doesn’t have to be insured as long as it’s not used for commercial purposes.

If you do need to get insurance for your boat, there are a few things to keep in mind. First, make sure you get enough coverage to protect your investment. Second, consider adding comprehensive and collision coverage to your policy so you’ll be covered if your boat is damaged in an accident.

Finally, get quotes from multiple insurers so you can compare rates and find the best deal.

What is Required on a Boat in Tennessee?

In Tennessee, all boats must have a valid registration and certificate of number. The owner of the vessel must also have a photo ID on board at all times. All motorized vessels must display valid decals, and non-motorized vessels must have the registration number painted on or attached to the hull in plain view.

All boats are required to have proper flotation devices for all occupants onboard, as well as a fire extinguisher. Any vessel 14 feet long or longer MUST also carry visual distress signals (VDS). These include:

• 3 hand-held red flares OR 3 red portable electric distress lights with extra batteries • 1 signal mirror • 2 floating orange smoke signals OR 1 orange flag

VDS must be readily accessible and in good working order. They should be inspected monthly and replaced every 4 years.

Is It a Legal Requirement to Have Boat Insurance?

No, it is not a legal requirement to have boat insurance in the United States. There are only a handful of states that require any kind of boating insurance, and even then, the coverage requirements are usually very minimal. That being said, just because it isn’t required by law doesn’t mean you shouldn’t get it.

Boat insurance can provide valuable protection in the event of an accident or other mishap, and it can give you peace of mind knowing that you’re covered if something goes wrong.

Does Tn Require Boat Registration?

In Tennessee, all motorized boats must be registered with the state. Sailboats that are 14 feet long or shorter and non-motorized boats are exempt from registration. The registration process is handled by the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency (TWRA).

How Much Does It Cost to Register a Boat in Tn?

It costs $21 to register a boat in Tennessee. The registration is valid for three years and must be renewed before it expires. You can register your boat online, by mail, or in person at a county clerk’s office.

To register online, you’ll need the hull identification number (HIN) of your boat, as well as your driver’s license or ID number. You can pay with a credit or debit card. If you’re registering by mail, you’ll need to fill out a registration form and include a check or money order for the fee.

Make sure to include the HIN of your boat on the form. Mail the form to: Boat Registration

TN Department of Revenue Andrew Jackson Building, 1st Floor 500 Deaderick Street Nashville, TN 37242-0001

Finally, if you’re registering in person, take your completed registration form and payment to your local county clerk’s office .

Do you have to have insurance on a boat in TN?

Tn Boat Registration Requirements

If you’re looking to register your boat in Tennessee, there are a few things you need to know. First off, all boats must be registered with the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency (TWRA). You can do this either online or in person at one of their offices.

The registration process is pretty simple and just requires some basic information about your boat and yourself. Once you have your registration, you’ll need to display it on your boat in a visible location. The TWRA also requires that all boats have some form of identification, such as a hull number or decal.

This is so that if your boat is ever lost or stolen, it can be easily identified and returned to you. Lastly, remember that Tennessee law requires all boaters to wear a life jacket while on the water. This is for everyone’s safety, so make sure you have enough life jackets for everyone on board before heading out!

New Boating Laws in Tennessee 2022

The Tennessee legislature recently passed a new law that will go into effect in 2022 regarding boating. The new law requires all boats to be registered with the state and have a valid decal displayed on the hull. Additionally, all boat operators must possess a valid boating license and follow all safety regulations.

This law is designed to help keep Tennesseans safe while enjoying their time on the water.

Boating Laws in Tennessee

There are a few things to know about boating laws in Tennessee before hitting the water. All boats must be registered with the state, and operators must have a valid driver’s license. There is no minimum age to operate a boat, but all operators must take an approved boater safety course if they were born after January 1, 1989.

Wearing a life jacket is required for all children 12 and under, and recommended for everyone else on board. It’s also against the law to drink alcohol while operating a boat. Be sure to check local regulations as well, as there may be additional restrictions in certain areas.

By following these simple laws and guidelines, you can help make sure everyone has a safe and enjoyable time on the water.

New Tn Boating Laws

A new boating law in Tennessee requires all boats to have at least $300,000 in liability insurance. The new law also requires boat owners to have a valid driver’s license and to take a boater safety course. The new law is designed to make boating safer for everyone on Tennessee waterways.

Boat owners will be required to carry proof of insurance with them when they are operating their vessel. Drivers who do not have a valid driver’s license will be subject to a fine of up to $500. All boat operators will be required to take a boater safety course before they can operate a vessel on Tennessee waterways.

The course must be approved by the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency. Operators who do not take the course will be subject to a fine of up to $250.


No, boat insurance is not required in Tennessee. However, it is always a good idea to have some form of insurance in case of an accident. There are many different types of boat insurance available, so be sure to shop around and find the best policy for your needs.