Does Missouri Require Boat Insurance?

Last Updated on October 16, 2022

No, Missouri does not require boat insurance. However, it is a good idea to have it in case of an accident or theft. Boat insurance can protect you from financial loss if your boat is damaged or stolen.

It can also help pay for medical expenses if you or someone else is injured in an accident involving your boat.

No, Missouri does not require boat insurance. However, it is always a good idea to have some form of insurance in case of an accident or other unforeseen event. You may want to consider insuring your boat if you have a loan on it or if it is particularly valuable.

Do I need Boat Insurance?

What is Required to Operate a Boat in Missouri?

To operate a boat in Missouri, you must have a valid driver’s license and be at least 16 years old. You must also have a boater education card if you were born after January 1, 1984. You can get a boater education card by taking an approved boater safety course.

Is It a Legal Requirement to Have Boat Insurance?

No, it is not a legal requirement to have boat insurance in the United States. There are only a handful of states that require any kind of boating insurance, and even then, the coverage requirements are minimal. That said, just because it isn’t required by law doesn’t mean you shouldn’t get it.

Boat insurance can protect you from a wide range of potential risks, including collisions, fires, theft, weather damage, and more. It can also provide liability coverage if you accidentally injure someone or damage their property while operating your boat. The cost of boat insurance will vary depending on the type and size of your vessel, as well as your location and the level of coverage you need.

But in general, it is relatively affordable – especially when compared to the cost of replacing or repairing your boat if something goes wrong. So even though boat insurance isn’t legally required in most cases, it is still an important form of protection for anyone who owns a vessel. If you have any questions about whether or not you should get covered, be sure to speak with your local agent today.

Do Boats Have to Be Registered in Missouri?

Yes, boats have to be registered in Missouri. The Department of Natural Resources’ Boating Safety Program is responsible for registering boats and issuing boat titles in the state of Missouri. To register your boat, you will need to fill out a Boat Registration Application and submit it to the Boating Safety Program.

You will also need to pay a registration fee. The fees are as follows: – $8 for canoes and kayaks

– $16 for other motorized vessels – $22 for sailboats 14 feet and longer

What Happens If You Dont Have Boat Insurance?

If you don’t have boat insurance, you are taking a huge risk. If something happens to your boat, you will be responsible for the entire cost of repairs or replacement. This could easily bankrupt you if you are not prepared.

There are a few things that can happen if you don’t have insurance. First, if your boat is damaged in any way, you will be responsible for the entire cost of repairs. This includes damage from weather, accidents, theft, and vandalism.

Second, if someone is injured on your boat, you will be liable for their medical bills and any other damages they incur. Finally, if your boat is stolen, you will be responsible for the entire cost of replacing it. Boat insurance may seem like an unnecessary expense but it is really just a way to protect yourself from financial ruin.

If something does happen to your boat, it is much better to have insurance than to try and pay for everything yourself.

What is Required on a Boat in Missouri

In Missouri, boats are required to have certain items on board in order to be legal. These items include: -A life jacket for each person on board

-A throwable floatation device -A sound producing device -Navigation lights if operating after sunset or before sunrise

-If powered by a motor, a registration decal from the Department of Natural Resources Additionally, it is recommended that boats have a fire extinguisher onboard as well.

Missouri Boat Registration

Per the Missouri Department of Natural Resources, any vessel that is used on waters of the state must be registered with the department, unless it meets certain exclusions. The registration helps to fund boating safety and education programs, as well as support law enforcement efforts to keep our waterways safe. To register your boat in Missouri, you’ll need to complete a Boat Registration Application (Form 8050-1), which can be obtained from most license agents, online through the DNR website, or by calling 573-751-4115.

You’ll also need to provide proof of ownership for the vessel (such as a bill of sale), and pay a $15 fee for boats 16 feet and longer, or a $10 fee for shorter vessels. If you’re registering a boat that’s been previously registered in another state, you’ll also need to submit a completed Vessel Transfer Notification form (8050-3) along with your application and fees. Once your application has been processed, you’ll receive two decals that must be affixed to the boat – one on each side near the bow – so that law enforcement officers can easily identify that your vessel is properly registered.

These decals must be renewed every year when you renew your registration. Missouri offers two different types of boat registrations – annual and permanent – so choose the option that best suits your needs. Annual registrations are valid for one year from date of purchase (or expiration of previous registration if renewing), while permanent registrations are valid as long as you own the boat.

If you sell or otherwise transfer ownership of your vessel, it’s important to note that the new owner will need to obtain their own registration; simply transferring over your old registration is not allowed.

New Boating Laws in Missouri

Missouri lawmakers have enacted a number of new boating laws that go into effect this year. One of the most notable changes is a new requirement that all boats must be equipped with a working engine kill switch. This law is designed to prevent serious accidents and injuries by shutting off the engine if the boat operator falls overboard.

Other new laws affecting boaters in Missouri include: • A ban on towing skiers or other towed devices between sunset and sunrise. • A prohibition on operating a boat while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

• A requirement that all boats must be registered with the state, regardless of size or type.


No, Missouri does not require boat insurance, but it is highly recommended. Boat insurance can protect you from financial loss if your boat is damaged or stolen, and can also provide liability coverage if you accidentally injure someone with your boat.