Does Indiana Require Boat Insurance?

Last Updated on October 16, 2022

No, Indiana does not require boat insurance. However, if you finance your boat, your lender will most likely require you to have insurance. Even if you don’t finance your boat, it’s still a good idea to insure it.

Boat insurance can help protect you from financial loss if your boat is damaged or stolen, and it can also help cover the costs of any injuries that occur while you’re on the water.

No, Indiana does not require boat insurance. However, it is highly recommended. Boat insurance can protect you financially if you are in an accident or your boat is damaged or stolen.

It can also give you peace of mind knowing that you are covered in case of an emergency.

What You Need To Know Before Buying Boat Insurance

Do I Have to Have Insurance on a Boat in Indiana?

In Indiana, boats are required to be insured if they are used for recreation or leased. The minimum amount of coverage required is $300,000 for bodily injury and $50,000 for property damage.

Is It a Legal Requirement to Have Boat Insurance?

There is no federal law mandating that boat owners have insurance, but most lenders will require it if you finance your vessel. Insurance is also typically required if you belong to a yacht club or marina. Some states have their own laws about boat insurance, so be sure to check with your local Department of Motor Vehicles or equivalent agency.

In general, though, having at least liability coverage is a good idea. This will protect you financially if you damage another person’s boat or property with your vessel.

What Do You Need to Operate a Boat in Indiana?

To operate a boat in Indiana, you need to have a valid driver’s license and be at least 18 years old. You also need to have a boater education card if you were born after December 31, 1986. To get a boater education card, you must take an approved boating safety course and pass a written exam.

Do I Need to Register My Boat in Indiana?

If you’re planning on keeping your boat in Indiana for an extended period of time, then you’ll need to register it with the state. The process is relatively simple and can be done online or through a local Marina. You’ll need to provide basic information about your vessel, as well as proof of ownership.

Once registered, you’ll receive a decal that must be displayed on your boat. Registration fees vary depending on the length of your boat, but are generally around $30 per year.

What is Required on a Boat in Indiana

If you’re planning on spending time boating on Indiana waters, there are a few things you’ll need to have on board. First and foremost, every boat must have a life jacket for each person on board. It’s also required that boats have a throwable flotation device, like a life ring or cushion, in case someone does go overboard.

You’ll also need to have working navigation lights if you plan to be out after sunset or before sunrise. Additionally, Indiana law requires boats to have a whistle or horn that can be used to signal for help. Lastly, all boats must display the registration number issued by the Department of Natural Resources.

With these required items on board, you’ll be able to safely enjoy your time boating in Indiana!

Indiana Boat Registration Requirements

If you’re a resident of Indiana and you own a boat, you’ll need to register it with the state. Here’s what you need to know about Indiana boat registration requirements. First, you’ll need to have your boat titled in Indiana.

You can do this by going to the BMV office and submitting a completed Application for Certificate of Title for a Boat (Form 44997). You’ll also need to provide proof of ownership, such as a bill of sale or previous registration certificate. There is a fee for titling your boat.

Next, you’ll need to register your boat with the Department of Natural Resources (DNR). You can do this online or at any DNR office. When registering your boat, you’ll need to provide the following information:

– The make, model, length and Hull Identification Number (HIN) of your boat – Your contact information – The county where the boat will be primarily used

– The type of propulsion for your boat – Whether or not your boat has an auxiliary engine Registration fees vary depending on the length of your boat and whether or not it has an auxiliary engine.

For example, the registration fee for a 16 foot long vessel with no auxiliary engine is $30 per year. However, if that same vessel had an auxiliary engine, the registration fee would be $45 per year.

What Safety Equipment is Required on a Boat in Indiana

In Indiana, all boats must be equipped with at least one U.S. Coast Guard-approved wearable personal flotation device (PFD) for each person on board. Children under the age of 13 must wear a PFD at all times while aboard a vessel less than 26 feet in length or on an open deck of a vessel 26 feet or longer. In addition, boats 16 feet and longer (except canoes and kayaks) must also carry one throwable Type IV PFD onboard.

All vessels operating on public waterways in Indiana are required to display navigation lights from sunset to sunrise, as well as during periods of restricted visibility (fog, rain, etc.). Boats less than 16 feet long may use portable navigation lights instead of permanent ones. Indiana law also requires vessels to have a sound-producing device onboard that can be used to signal for help in case of emergency.

A whistle or horn is typically sufficient. Finally, it is always a good idea to have some kind of fire extinguisher onboard your boat in case of accidental fires.


No, Indiana does not require boat insurance, but it is highly recommended. There are a few things to consider when deciding whether or not to insure your boat. The value of your boat, the type of boat, and how often you use it are all factors that should be considered.

Boat insurance can protect you from financial loss if your boat is damaged or stolen, and it can also provide liability coverage in the event that someone is injured while on your boat.